From the Midwest to Hollywood


Has Anyone Ever Told You That You Look Like Viggo Mortensen?
June 22, 2008, 4:26 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yes. All the time, actually.

Last week, a casting director asked me if people said I looked like Viggo Mortensen, and the honest answer is that probably hundreds of people have told me that now. Funny thing is, no one told me that until I moved to LA, and now I get it all the time. In fact, when my roommate Nate tells a story about one of his two roommates, his friends ask “is it the one that looks like Viggo Mortensen or the other one?”

I have kept a list on my cell phone message pad of comments people make about my appearance since moving to LA. The celebrity-similarities and ethnic background comments include the following: Viggo Mortensen, a young Willem Dafoe, Sting, a young Ed Harris, Jude Law, Neil Patrick Harris, Niles from Frasier, a young David Caruso, of Russian descent, a young Pope John Paul II, David Beckham, Conan O’Brien, Peter Wiler, Casper Van Dien, Jason from General Hospital, Tony Hawk, Steve Zahn, Ryan Seacrest, James Blunt, the smart guy from Criminal Minds, Ryan Phillipe in Cruel Intentions. Per a friend-from-of-old Brooke’s renewed comment, I also add Leonard Whiting, of the 1968 version of Romeo and Juliet. Link follows: http://www.imdb.com/video/screenplay/vi2776891673/

Several of these “similarities” have only been referenced once or twice, so I think it has more to do with the observer than myself. But frequently-repeated comments give one pause for thought: Viggo Mortensen, Sting, Ed Harris, Neil Patrick Harris, a Russian man (I get this one somewhat frequently).

Far and away, over the course of my life people have commented most about Sting and Viggo. People have mentioned Sting to me ever since I was in junior high, but in the last year or so, these comments have dropped off remarkably. My theory is that Sting has recently re-emerged in the spotlight as his present self, whereas people previously remembered what he looked like earlier on. I did a Sting-image search and in certain pictures, I saw what people meant. Here are some of these pictures:

Since moving to LA, it’s been Viggo, Viggo, Viggo. At first, I had only seen Viggo in The Lord of the Rings, where I see no similarity to myself. But last year I saw “A History of Violence,” and it made a believer out of me.

Here are some Viggo pictures and a link to the “History of Violence” trailer:

http://www.imdb.com/rg/VIDEO_NAME/GALLERY/video/screenplay/vi1672741145/

Whether or not it helps to resemble a celebrity is debatable. I’ve heard of an actress who looked like “a little Angelina Jolie,” and an industry professional said she would never get any work because “we already have an Angelina Jolie.” On the other hand, some agents refer to established celebrities when marketing new talent: “appearance-wise, he’s a young Viggo Mortensen, and acting-wise he is…” I guess it can give a frame of reference when thinking about an actor.

I am all for their making a movie about Viggo Mortensen’s life, but I am not holding my breath. I think we’re more likely to see a movie about Heath Ledger in the next couple of years, and I don’t look like him at all.

Viggo and Sting fans, feel free to comment about them rather than me. No fleas on me, but they are great. Best to each of you!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ve never seen someone look more like someone else than Leili Sobieski does to Helen Hunt, and they both do quite well with their careers if you ask me.
I can’t think of a better person to look like than Viggo Mortensen. But I am a bit of a fan. I cannot at all see a negative in that. And anyone who wishes to cast gloom and doom on your future because of that resemblance can find thousands of us Viggans all over the world who sharply disagree.

Comment by summerflu

I think you look more like Ashton Holmes, the fellow who played the son in “History of Violence.” Which, of course, means that I do see the Viggo resemblance. It doesn’t seem to be harming Ashton’s career…so I wish you every success. Don’t forget to have fun.

Comment by anapple.us

In my opinion it’s silly for anyone to even think of short changing you or any other actor based on the fact that they may or may not resemble another famous actor… like fashion what looks good to the public eye changes over time, so just like a man or woman who’s physical appearance would have been considered attractive back in the 1700′s is very different now… it only bodes well for you that you look like many an attractive man today… that only means to me that your look is “in”. So to quote Martha Stewart…that’s a good thing! :)

Comment by brookie

yes, yes, yes.
i totally see it now, though i would never have noticed it myself.
and that album cover of sting looks REMARKABLY like you. your brother even said when he first glanced at it he thought it was a photo of you when you were younger.
consider yourself lucky to resemble someone good-looking, rather than–oh, let’s say–DAVID SPADE ;)

Comment by L,thesisterinlaw

i’d also like to add, after having watched the romeo & juliet clip on imdb, that romeo’s pants freak me out.

Comment by L,thesisterinlaw

Hey there, I randomly found your blog through a google search that sent me to one of your other entries, and I decided to read some more. I’m a Wisconsin boy, too, and in lieu of blogging, I’ve been part of a youtube documentary vlog project about my efforts to make a career for myself. Either way, kudos to you for your efforts. Drop me a line if you’d like to keep in touch.

And for the record, people tell me I look like Hugh Grant or Ben Affleck most often, though I don’t see that one.
~Trav

Comment by Travis Richey




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

